1. Reviews Page 1 - Japanese Silk Bondage Rope Shibari 5m

      Average customer review 4 out of 5 stars13 reviews

      Sorry! This product has been discontinued.

      Please scroll down to see alternative products.

      1. Japanese Silk Bondage Rope Shibari 5m

      Mouse over image to zoom

    1. Customer Reviews

      Japanese Silk Bondage Rope Shibari 5m 13 4 out of 5 stars 4 out of 5

      5 star
      754%
      4 star
      323%
      3 star
      18%
      2 star
      18%
      1 star
      18%
      1. Japanese Silk Bondage Rope Shibari 5m
      2. Japanese Silk Bondage Rope Shibari 5m

        Our Price
        £14.99

        Sorry, sold out!

    1. Very pretty, but slightly too sloppy for me

      Reviewed: 02 September 2012 by pussy-kat

      This is a lovely product which my partner and I purchased when we started to get into shibari.

      There is nothing wrong with this product, it's lovely quality and feels great, but I just prefer something with a little more friction to give me a greater feeling of restraint.

      I think this would be great for someone who wanted to avoid rope burns and was starting to learn shabari but if you want a little more of an S&M feel go for the cotton.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Gentle on skin and easy to untangle.
      Cons
      Not enough grip.
      Bottom line
      Pretty and elegant.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Just Love this Rope!

      Reviewed: 23 March 2011 by Pixie_Murree, a Straight Going Steady Female

      I bought this along with the Japanese wrist restraints and have had great fun trying out different ways to be tied up.

      It's so soft you don't have to worry about the tell tale marks and once it's tied it won't loosen or tighten. It's not just for tying though, I used it to make foot stirrups and I wouldn't be surprised if you could make a harness out of it - it's very strong!

      I would have liked it to be a bit longer - it only wraps round my body a few times - but maybe this is something they will bring out in the future.

      Overall - it's great - totally recommended!

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Silky smooth rope, leaves no marks and very strong.
      Cons
      Not quite long enough.
      Bottom line
      Brilliant addition to my collection.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Tie me up, tie me down!

      Reviewed: 27 November 2010 by occhiverdi, a Straight Going Steady Female

      Chafe-free!

      This was the first "bondage" product that was introduced to our bedroom. It is gentle on the skin and leaves no marks.... while still being able to be tied as tight as you wish.

      The length adds to its versatility as you can easily tie ankles and wrists using one rope. The end of the rope also makes a great alternative item to give a spanking.

      I've also used it to help me pull him in deeper during doggy.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      It's gentle on the skin while still keeping it naughty in the bedroom ;)
      Cons
      It should be sold in a variety of lengths.
      Bottom line
      It's soft, strong and very long....
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Silky rope

      Reviewed: 20 August 2009 by sexslave, a Bisexual Going Steady Female

      Great for being tied to the bed with!

      It's long enough to tie your arms above your head and your feet to the bottom of the bed!

      The rope doesn't burn, make it as tight as you like.

      Really strong, can support you hanging from the ceiling like a swing!

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Soft and silky, doesn't give rope burn
      Cons
      Nothing
      Bottom line
      Diverse piece of rope!
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Such great fun

      Reviewed: 01 August 2007 by edwinacassie

      Well to begin I was unsure, but now I just love getting tied down. You can use it in all different positions which makes it more fun.

      It doesn't cut into the skin but you do have to be good at tying it on otherwise you get loose.

      I tried it and love it.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      You can be adventurous
      Cons
      Sometimes not long enough
      Bottom line
      Great, lots of fun
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Getting knotted for the first time

      Reviewed: 03 September 2010 by tigermunch

      My partner and I are complete bondage beginners but we've thought for a long time about giving it a go. The thought of being tied up, dominated by the other was a real turn on for us but we weren't sure where to start. We went for this rope, as it seemed a lot more versatile than a pair of cuffs.

      I'm so glad we did. This rope is great fun, and great for beginners like us! It's a great length - plenty of rope to tie both wrists and ankles to the bedframe! I've discovered I love being tied up while he teases me. I also enjoy getting my own back when it's time to tie him down! This rope is deceptively strong but also soft so you don't get any kind of chafing or rope-burns. This is reassuring to know when the fun gets a little rough; you know you won't have any suspicious wounds to explain at work!

      It's great to get tied up into all kinds of positions - and you can tie the knots really tight. They won't come undone, but they're still easy to undo when you've finished playing.

    2. Overall Rating
      9 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Versatile, nice and long, soft and strong.
      Cons
      No cons. Great product that does what you want.
      Bottom line
      Hours of bondage-based fun with no rope-burns or chafing!
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Excellent rope

      Reviewed: 25 July 2007 by chocolatepie

      This 5m purple rope comes with a little booklet, which has an introduction to bondage, different types of ropes available, as well as the types of knots you can learn to tie.

      The great thing about this rope is that you can do anything with it; it is newbie friendly, reusable and doesn't chafe the skin. It's not made of silk like its name suggests, but the material (nylon) is of good quality and soft enough to feel silky and friction-free. Cuffs are all well and good, but you can't beat the feeling of being tied up with a rope!

    2. Overall Rating
      9 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Silky feel rope, reusable, strong
      Cons
      Made of nylon and not real silk (I wish!), parts of the rope can fray
      Bottom line
      Worth the money, can be used in so many different ways, your imagination is the limit!
    3. 1 person found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. A nice sturdy rope. A lot of fun!

      Reviewed: 29 October 2009 by funboy

      This is a good quality rope and very sturdy. It is very low friction and feels nice against the skin, but could feel better. Definitely a good buy if you're looking for a decent length rope to use in bondage fantasy.

      The ends of the rope are covered with a rubber cover which came off very easily, so put a knot in the end to avoid fraying if it does come off.

    2. Overall Rating
      8 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Nice and long, good quality!
      Cons
      The rope end covers came off easily.
      Bottom line
      A good bit of bondage rope!
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Good for its intended use

      Reviewed: 03 June 2012 by JeanDarc, a Gay Going Steady Female

      Despite the fact this is marketed as what I assume is shibari rope, I only purchased it for tethering purposes.

      I'm quite glad for that, because when I did attempt to practice a shibari tie I found that the rope would fray in the middle!

      While this is bad for anything artistic, it retains its strength and therefore is still good for general ties and tethers.

    2. Overall Rating
      7 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Soft, attractive, strong.
      Cons
      Frayed in odd places.
      Bottom line
      Maybe not good for shibari, but fine for general tying.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Soft and Sensual

      Reviewed: 16 February 2009 by RealisticRomantic, a Straight Going Steady Female

      I bought this product for my other half who likes play around with rope. We've used a few different things in the past including satin ribbon and tights but the most satisfying in his opinion was a length of rope he acquired years ago while learning to sail because of all the neat little knots you can make (bless him)! This was fun but less than ideal as it was quite harsh on the skin so with Valentines day just around the corner I thought I'd investigate an alternative.

      This rope seemed like good value for money and having bought from Lovehoney before, I knew that I would receive prompt, reliable and inconspicuous service. If you haven't bought from them before, I really would recommend them. :¬)

      My parcel arrived, as expected, like any other mail order item. Simple brown packaging - nothing fishy for my housemates to get nosy about! I unwrapped it to find the product simply packaged. The illustration on the front is pretty tasteful! As the previous reviews have said the rope itself isn't actually silk. Maybe slightly misleading there but it does feel quite silky and soft. When unwrapped by my rather happy man, we found the "instruction booklet" to be something of a let-down but you can find lots of useful stuff online now and Lovehoney thoughtfully send you an email when you buy anything bondage-related with tips and techniques as well as safety stuff.

      Okay, so down to business. The rope is very strong as you'd expect. It feels silky and is a good diameter so it doesn't chafe as much as other ropes or ties. It isn't friction free though so watch out for marks and burns. On the same lines, the only real problem we had was that the ends of the rope are covered in thin plastic to prevent fraying. Great but they can whip against the skin when you're pulling an end through to knot, etc which can leave bruises. It's fine if you're careful though. Another small negative was that there were one or two loose ends protruding from the rope weave. I don't think this will affect it's performance in future but doesn't look as neat as it could.

      All in all, this rope seems good value. The 5m length is useful and the texture of the rope is lovely. It ties nicely and is easy to undo once you're done.

    2. Overall Rating
      7 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Feel and texture, softness, length
      Cons
      Plastic end coverings leave marks if hit against skin, some loose threads
      Bottom line
      Highly recommended, could do with one or two detail changes. A great buy.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Erupting

      Reviewed: 17 March 2012 by vanilla-bird

      One of the first sex toys I have ever bought; and the one I am most excited about.

      It looks beautiful, the colour is splendid. Does not look tacky or too rough. Nice length, though I have not yet had had a chance to use it. However I can say it will be too short to do the kind of shibari I am interested in.

      I was and still am excited about this product - however, I noticed there are some loose ends at the middle of the rope that are already erupting and I have not used it even once yet!

      I will buy another rope for sure and I am sorry to say as much as I like the feel and looks of this one. I will take another product next time.

    2. Overall Rating
      5 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Beautiful colour, soft feel, nice and thick, holds knots well.
      Cons
      Erupting from the middle!
      Bottom line
      A beautiful product but will probably not last too long.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Fine for beginners fun

      Reviewed: 02 August 2012 by BlueSweetPea, a Bisexual Going Steady Female

      I purchased this because I was being a little lazy and thought I would put it in with another product from LH and save me going to my normal site.

      My first comment would be that if you are seriously thinking about getting into rope play you must do some research and not rely on the booklet that comes with this rope. Just because you can tie it very tightly doesn't mean that you should and there are more things to consider than whether the rope leaves any marks. Please please go and do some research about circulation and pressure points and suitable positions.

      If you are going to do some basic tethering to the bed or objects using simple knots then this product will be exactly what you need. The ends of the ropes are covered with rubber ends, make sure you are careful when pulling the rope through knots that you don't whip your partner in the face with these ends. This rope is smooth and silky (although not actually made of silk) and will feel very sensual against your skin. If you want to learn to tie some basic safe knots try looking for Two Knotty Boys, they have lots of tutorials you can download free from their website.

      If you want to do something more adventurous with this rope, like shibari, or harnesses or decorative work than this is not a good product. I did one set of knots and the rope was already looking tatty along the length. If you want serious rope for serious rigging and play then look for a specialist site.

      LH - I would question whether you should sell this product with the name "Shibari” as it doesn't seem entirely fit for that purpose. I would also suggest that you put some basic tutorial videos on your website about how to tie knots and how to play safely. I know you already have some guidelines but if you are selling rope I think you should offer more to help keep a beginner safe.

      However, thanks to the LH's brilliant returns policy I can send the rope back for a full refund and maybe spend my money on something else fun.

    2. Overall Rating
      4 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Feels and looks very sexy.
      Cons
      Not suitable for anything other than beginners fun.
      Bottom line
      Good for a starter - but do your research about safety.
    3. 1 person found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Not really silk

      Reviewed: 31 October 2006 by toyreviewer

      I was very disappointed to find this rope was only nylon and not silk as described, will stick to cotton rope in future

    2. Overall Rating
      1 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Well it was not silk
      Cons
      What a disappointment to find it wasn't silk
      Bottom line
      Better to stick to cotton
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    Order by:

    1 to 13 of 13
    Return to main Japanese Silk Bondage Rope Shibari 5m page