1. Reviews Page 1 - The Diary of a Submissive by Sophie Morgan

      Average customer review 4.5 out of 5 stars30 reviews

      Sorry! This product has been discontinued.

      Please scroll down to see alternative products.

      1. The Diary of a Submissive by Sophie Morgan

      Mouse over image to zoom

    1. Customer Reviews

      The Diary of a Submissive by Sophie Morgan 30 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.5 out of 5

      5 star
      1963%
      4 star
      1137%
      3 star
      00%
      2 star
      00%
      1 star
      00%
      1. The Diary of a Submissive by Sophie Morgan
      2. The Diary of a Submissive by Sophie Morgan

        RRP
        £7.99
        Our Price
        £6.00
        You save:
        £1.99 (25%)

        Sorry, sold out!

    1. Blows 'Fifty Shades' out the water

      Reviewed: 25 June 2015 by Boogaloo, a Straight Married Female

      A friend of mine bought me this book as a gift, knowing that I'm exploring my BDSM fantasies and enjoy reading erotica. Overall, this is a fantastic book that I'd highly recommend to BDSM lovers, especially those who aren't a fan of FSOG (like me)!

      For starters, I loved the book before I even read it. The cover art looks so suggestive, yet tasteful, featuring a woman with her wrists handcuffed and cradling a rose in her palms. I do have to say that it looks like an erotic rip-off of the 'Twilight' cover, but it's lovely regardless!

      The story dives right in with an erotic scene of female submission, and really sets the tone for the rest of the book. It's somewhat shocking, but alluring, and drew me in immediately. I was also struck by the author's writing style - which is so witty and down to earth, unlike many of the erotica books I've read. It didn't frustrate me to read, instead it's very polished and well-written.

      One of the best things about this book is that it's a real, tangible story, detailing the true experiences of a submissive. I found it genuinely enthralling from the get-go, and not at all ridiculous or far-fetched like some other adult novels. There is quite a lot of back story (especially to begin with), but this helps to create depth and personality within all of the characters. It's not all about sex, and it doesn't feel false.

      As a disclaimer, I would say that this is not your typical erotica book, and you may not find it particularly arousing unless you're into the BDSM lifestyle. There aren't many 'vanilla' scenes, or sex scenes in general, it is mostly punishments. However, it offers a glaring insight into the mind of a submissive and how she perceives different situations, which made me view BDSM in a whole new light.

      The psychological aspect of the D/s relationship that Sophie Morgan describes is the biggest turn on here. Reading not only about her punishments, but about how she experiences them and what they mean to her, really got me thinking about what submission means to me. Reading this book made me crave being dominated in ways that I haven't before, and opened my mind tremendously.

      That being said, this book is not for the faint-hearted. It begins with some fairly tame sex scenes, but as it progresses they get more hardcore, and even shocking in some instances. There were times when I was questioning whether the author was really enjoying the torment she was subjected to, as there was so much focus on her shame and humiliation, but I came to learn that it was all part of the fascination for her. The intense punishments are also beautifully contradicted by warm, tender moments between Sophie and James, reminding us that there is more to a D/s relationship than penalty and surrender.

      The only thing that disappointed me about this book was the ending. It seemed too rushed and abrupt, and was then followed by a confusing epilogue which left me wondering what the hell just happened! But as I understand it there is a sequel, so I'm guessing all is explained in there.

      Overall, this was a fantastic read. It was a slow burner, with passion and excitement simmering beneath the surface on every page, leading up to explosive moments of dominance and submission. It's probably unfair to compare it to FSOG, but it really is so much better, and I'd highly recommend it to those who want to explore BDSM in more depth.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Excellent writing style, true story, psychological exploration of BDSM.
      Cons
      Abrupt ending, not strictly 'erotica'.
      Bottom line
      Forget FSOG, this is the real deal!
    3. 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. A wonderful read

      Reviewed: 21 May 2015 by Ink and Kink, a Bisexual Going Steady Female

      I got gifted this amazing book by a lovely person on Lovehoney a while back, and I am only posting now, as I have only just finished reading it, yesterday.

      This is by far the best erotic book that I own. It had me thinking about it inbetween reading, it made me crave being dominated more than I normally do. The book starts with an incredible scene of pure submission and dominance. There is no wondering what is going on, as it is written so well and clear. The author was especially good at describing the scenes.

      I originally went into this book with a mind that it would be like many of the others that I have read, but this shows a much darker side, a lot less mild then a lot of the other eroticas. It really shows a lot of what I am actually into! It is in depth and brutal. Which made me want to read on and on and on.

      I am not going to go into too much detail on what happens. It isn't for people who prefer the milder BDSM scenes. It is just amazing and I am so glad that I was gifted it! It isn't no 50 Shades! it is so much better! so much kinkier! So much more amazing!

      I realised whilst reading this book, which isn't even a con, is that Sophie (the writer) goes into a lot of detail about her life. But that is too be expected, as after all it is her diary. Something that I loved about this book is the fact that she is a journalist, and so reading this was a breeze (although I had my dictionary out for some of the words she used). It is well written and just a pleasure to read. She goes into very good detail with each character and everything has been written in depth.

      The only thing I disliked about the book was the ending. In my opinion it was a little bit sloppy, and maybe a little bit rushed. It left me thinking "oh is that it", and I thought maybe there would be another book to follow, but from what I can tell, there isnt.

      You need this by your bedside. That's all I'm going to say on the subject! Enjoy it. I know I did.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      The writing style.
      Cons
      The ending.
      Bottom line
      A good read.
    3. 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Real, hot and brilliantly written

      Reviewed: 29 January 2015 by kinky-for-you, a Bisexual Married Female

      This is my new favourite book!

      This true story avoids the over-romanticised paragraphs that most 'dirty' books have. There are no drawn out descriptions.

      The story portrays Sophie's conflict with her own lusts and the battle to submit, against her everyday controlling persona, into a sexual submission she so desperately craves.

      The book manages to keep a story which is interesting and the characters likeable, while not forgetting it is there to arouse!

      There's is no more then a page or two before detailed sexual scenes play out. They are not just descriptions of physical play, but also the mental stimulation offered by BDSM.

      For me, this book is perfect for anyone. For those wondering why we submit, Sophie explains and describes it all beautifully. For those just starting out, it will open your mind to the broader aspects of play and give you some great ideas.

      For those like me, who are far from new to this game, it has the language and tension I crave in a book as well as some great scenarios and situations I can relate to.

      The scenes have left my mind racing, my toes clenching and an ache that required immediate attention. Tearing myself away from this book is so difficult. Well, until I am made to put it down of course!

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Language, story, erotic scenes, real.
      Cons
      Nothing.
      Bottom line
      Perfect!
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Fantastic read

      Reviewed: 02 January 2015 by jadeox, a Bisexual Engaged Female

      I got to say this has got to be the best book I have ever read! It gives a very detailed insight of what it is like to be a real life submissive, as it is actually true not just a made up story, which makes it much more interesting.

      It is very erotic and it is one of those books that you cannot put down. I enjoyed reading it so much that I could read it over and over again and not get bored! It also gave me a few ideas for me and my partner. ;)

      I actually bought the slut paddle that's mentioned in the book and I'm looking forward to using it. ;)

      I would recommend this book to anyone that's interested in the D/s world.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Everything.
      Cons
      Nothing.
      Bottom line
      Fantastic read, would recommend to anyone.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. A huge turn-on

      Reviewed: 22 May 2014 by scorpiosami, a Straight Going Steady Female

      This book is not only enlightening to people who aren't in a dom/sub relationship but extremely erotic. I have to say it is the best erotic book I have ever read, and I've read my fair share (I prefer reading to watching sometimes).

      The story is fantastic and all the more arousing as it's a true story! I'd say it was for the fairly open minded, definitely not as tame as the Fifty Shades book, but also nowhere near as clichéd.

      This book is straight to the point and opens with one of the hottest scenes of dominance I've read in a book, there's no waiting around for the action to start. You know what's happening from the outset.

      Would recommend to anyone who wants to branch out from so called vanilla, but not through cliché sex scenes like Fifty Shades shows.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      That it's a true story. Makes it even hotter.
      Cons
      Nothing!
      Bottom line
      A fantastic read that you'll only put down to cure your horniness.
    3. 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Read it

      Reviewed: 11 April 2014 by KayT, a Straight Married Female

      After reading 50 Shades, I wanted to read something that had more detail on the submissive side from someone who actually wanted to be one, unlike Anna.

      I was completely blown away with Sophie's story. And loved that the book wasn't repetitive. There were many different elements to the D/s sex scenes.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      That it was about a REAL person's life.
      Cons
      That it didn't tell me how captivating the story was.
      Bottom line
      Buy it. You won't be disappointed.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. A gift, it went down well

      Reviewed: 11 December 2013 by Heart2Heart, a Bisexual Going Steady Male

      As per usual, Lovehoney sent this out rather promptly and it arrived promptly within discreet plain packaging so Mr Postie wouldn't know what could be inside!

      This was a random gift for the other half after she had mentioned she would like to read it, so it was even more appreciated that it came so quickly so I could wrap it and give it to her.

      She was very surprised, and not just by the gift, she was surprised with what she read. She gave it a quick flick through and then began reading it. She is absolutely loving it.

      I quote: "It's so much better than Fifty Shades of Grey as it isn't repetitive." / "It's opened up my mind so much."

      She says that overall it is a fantastic read and she will probably read it over and over because she will never get bored with how amazing it is.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      It doesn't get repetitive.
      Cons
      Nothing.
      Bottom line
      A perfect read for the saucy, and you may even open up someone's mind.
    3. 1 person found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Hot submission

      Reviewed: 23 May 2013 by fakebites, a Bisexual Single Female

      Like many, I read 50 Shades of Gray thinking it'd be the bees knees, but like many, was rather disappointed. E.L James doesn't know much about the lifestyle!

      Sophie Morgan on the other hand, definitely does. When I read this I just couldn't put it down. I lost a fair bit of sleep being totally sucked into this book!

      Not only is the front cover photo stunning, but the way she writes and the fact she knows what's she is talking about all hypes this book up. Very, very pleased with my purchase.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      The fact Morgan knows about BDSM.
      Cons
      There's no more!
      Bottom line
      Definitely 5 stars worth.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Real submission right here

      Reviewed: 20 November 2012 by PinkPolkaDot

      What drew me to this book in the first place is the fact that the author actually knows what she's talking about. Fifty Shades was good and everything, but from what I've seen and read since then - E.L. James's portrayal of BDSM wasn't exactly accurate.

      I don't usually go for autobiographies but I'm glad I did in this case. Sophie Morgan is a real woman, who has experienced everything she has written in this book. She has not simply read about the subject, done a little research and decided to write about her fantasies. This is the real deal, someone's personal experiences which I believe makes the book so much better.

      I love how real the character is. Just a simple girl who wants to be dominated. I love Sophie's confidence and the fact that she knows exactly what she wants. It does seem like she's found partners way too easily - surely she was more likely to find more vanilla men?! But then maybe she was just drawn to the type of man she was looking for and subconsciously was only attracted to the people she thought could give her exactly what she wanted. I think I would have liked to see a regular vanilla relationship just for a little bit of perspective, because I find it hard to believe there wasn't one at all.

      I found myself thinking 'what are you doing Sophie, just stop it' throughout the book, especially at the punishment scenes. I can't believe how stubborn she is, so the book made me on the edge, frustrated at her character but not in a bad way. I was also really looking forward to the scene with Thomas and Charlotte, I thought there would be some D/s girl on girl action, but that wasn't to my taste at all. The submission was incredibly impressive though.

      I loved the ending although I was a bit disappointed due to the lack of a straight to the point, definite conclusion. But that's okay, because it will keep me thinking about the book for a long, long time

      The cover makes me think of Twilight - surely it could have been something more original? Unless it was intentional and the publisher and author wanted it to stand out more so that people would be drawn to it. I think it's unnecessary but I'm glad there are no pictures of half naked women with their bums out ready to be spanked anywhere. I wouldn't have been able to read it on the train if that was the case. As it is, no one could tell what I was reading was dirty unless they knew what the book was - a guy did smile and wink at me when I looked up from it at one point so maybe he did recognise the cover! It took me 3 hours to finish this and I hope Sophie writes more books because I just love her style of writing.

      If you're looking for a smutty book with loads of sex in don't bother getting this. However, if you're looking for a story about a woman's submission and conflicts with herself then this is exactly what you should buy.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      How real it felt. Discreet front cover but too Twilight-y.
      Cons
      A few mistakes and typos.
      Bottom line
      Fifty Shades has nothing on this!
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Loved it

      Reviewed: 06 November 2012 by sexywiz

      I loved this book and couldn't put it down. It was realistic and very insightful into the life of the author.

      I really enjoyed reading it, it was far better than 50 Shades of Grey and a lot kinkier!

      Would definitely recommend. I told my friend to read it and she loved it too.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Real life story, exciting, kinky.
      Cons
      I wish it was longer!
      Bottom line
      Great read, kinky, naughty, realistic.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. A very frank and enlightening read

      Reviewed: 31 October 2012 by Luscious Libby, a Straight Married Female

      I toyed with getting this for quite some time. A number of friends were reading 50 Shades and raving about it. I wasn't really interested in that as I prefer to read factual books, however I was interested in the topic so started to search for similar books. Having read excerpts from 50 Shades and Diary of a Submissive, I decided the latter was more my cup of tea.

      I have in the past considered submissive play but am really more of a light bondage person, but I was very much interested in learning more about it. This book is fascinating, not least because you are following a journey, the author's journey into the world of submission.

      I was surprised to read just how violent and degrading some of the sex scenes played out were, however this was well balanced by the detail given to the other side of the relationships. This level of detail to the submission did not put me off reading, it was just miles away from what I had seen on late night TV programmes touching on the subject.

      The book highlights that there are positives and negatives to a submissive relationship and the diary manner of the book allows the author to give us information on the thoughts and feelings of her partners, which again is fascinating. It is a compelling read even but due to the submission can be at times uneasy reading. That said I still could not put it down!

      Reading this book has sparked a number of debates with my husband as I have tried to understand the submissive relationship and we have both enjoyed exploring the subject further.

      I would definitely recommend reading this book and I do hope there is a follow up soon.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      The detail given to both sides of the relationships.
      Cons
      Nothing.
      Bottom line
      Great read even for those not interested in submissive play.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Lock, stock and smocking heels

      Reviewed: 19 October 2012 by Blueeyes82, a Straight Single Female

      "In the wake of Fifty Shades of Grey, here is a memoir that tells the truth about what it means to be a submissive..."

      Well, that opening snippet grabbed my attention, when I first opened the package containing this book. 'The Diary of a Submissive', yup caught me hook, line and sinker!

      I really didn't get this whole 'Fifty Shades of Grey' lark, I couldn't see the attraction to a story that wrongly portrayed the relationship between a submissive and their master. So when this book popped through my letterbox, I quickly grabbed a cup of tea, buttered my toast and curled up on the sofa. This was my time to take advantage of my child free time and delve into someone's personal life, without sounding like a nosy neighbour.

      The cover of the book shows a pair of porcelain and dainty hands that are bound by silver restraints, whilst gently cupping a fully bloomed pink rose. Simple yet it made me want to rip open the front cover to find out what Sophie's life behind closed doors was all about.

      From the start, you are thrown into a dark scene, Sophie with 'him'. Describing how a person on the outside would be intrigued to take a look, it's like being told "don't look down" and you know full well your whole body is going to tell you "well look down you fool!", it's something you can't control, an urge that your mind needs to fulfil before you can move on. The same goes for that couple you see in a dark alley or outside a bar, all over each other, you know you just have to look.

      I like how she describes herself as an 'ordinary' woman, she has no deep-seated parental past issues, she's not Maggie Gyllenhaal in The Secretary, she is simply just like you and me, a normal person holding down a steady job and living her life. You get a very quick outlook to how her normal life is lead within the first chapter, clear and straight to the point, no faffing about.

      It's hard to go into detail without giving too much away, so I will try to keep this as simple as I can.

      Sophie's submissive nature is somewhat of a small fairground ride. She writes from the heart, there are some really shocking moments that had me sucking in my breath in. You need to know that this is not as simple as a 'role-play' game, you will be taken down a road that leads into some hardcore practices. Sophie is left sobbing with humiliation, punished, even self tortures upon the request of a partner.

      Don't get her wrong, Sophie makes it perfectly clear that she wants this and allows it to happen. There are moments where she questions herself and struggles.

      As a submissive myself, I have had people ask me why do I like certain things to be done to me. It's hard to explain, for me it really is. I'm not into 'extreme' BDSM and I would never go as dark and deep as Sophie and her counterparts have, in this biographical read but I can relate to her wanting for what she does.

      Of course, it's not fully about Sophie, James is in there to, her 'master' but lets not forget about a couple of other colourful characters, 2 who are less than readable in my view. This is nothing to do with the author's accounts, I just found him and his female counterpart cringing, sent shivers down my spine. Her first encounter into her world was tame, compared to what you are later lead into. So it's safe to say that Sophie did go down a rocky road until she crossed paths with James, both of which were coming to terms with their own needs, James questioning if this was the kind of man he wanted to be.

      I'm not sure you could class this book as 'erotica', yes it has some very graphic and panty wetting scenes in it but it's a true story. Mind you, I'm pretty sure those of us who do write short erotica stories are writing from personal experience too!

      It's definitely a book you need to pick up and read, Sophie bares her soul to the reader. She tells it how it is, no petting footing with this lady.

      I wouldn't compare it to Fifty Shades of Grey and why? Well, lets be honest here, Sophie KNOWS what she is talking about. Mind you, for me this book was much easier to read, it flowed a lot better and it wasn't a book that you could second guess. And let's not forget that The Diary of a Submissive is a real-life story, not a fictional one.

      I really do hope that Sophie Morgan lets us into a sequel, especially the way she ends her story, just not fair to keep us hanging.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      The brutal honesty and excitement.
      Cons
      N/A.
      Bottom line
      A steamy read that leaves you wanting more!
    3. 1 person found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Fantastic book

      Reviewed: 08 October 2012 by georgie69

      I got this book after reading and enjoying the "infamous" 50 Shades book and I'm so glad I did!

      This is a really well written book describing the author's journey into and through the Sub/Dom world.

      It's refreshing to read something *real* instead of all the fiction that seems to be about at the moment.

      I would highly recommend this book to anyone, not just those how are into the BDSM scene but as a stand alone well written book.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Well written and descriptive.
      Cons
      Nothing.
      Bottom line
      A fantastic insight into the world of a sub.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Different

      Reviewed: 03 April 2015 by Jessie123, a Straight Going Steady Female

      I read this book after reading Fifty Shades of Grey, and so went into this book thinking it would be very much the same as all the others I had read - it is not!

      This is not a book anything like Fifty Shades of Grey. There is no romantic story line other than the fact that Sophie likes the pain. I believe that it actually gives you a more realistic insight into what life as a submissive would actually be like. I think Fifty Shades gives you a cushioned view on the acts. However, this book makes it seem a lot more real.

      I didn't read it all in one go as I normally do, and that is because at times it almost seemed a little to brutal and indepth, but I still enjoyed the book and it's on my shelf along side the other kinky stories that I have read!

      I would tell everyone that the book is good, but don't go in thinking of Mr Grey!

    2. Overall Rating
      9 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Very kinky, bondage, sexy.
      Cons
      Sometimes a bit intense.
      Bottom line
      A good read!
    3. 1 person found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. If you want to read about real D/s play

      Reviewed: 08 March 2014 by Laveila, a Straight Single Female

      After reading 50 Shades of Grey I was bit worried about reading another erotica book as it seems it triggered lot of similarly themed books to be written and I was not too keen to read something similar to 50 Shades. The reason I decided to go for the Diary of a Submissive was simple, I wanted to read about experience of someone, who tried it for themselves, without the need to go into the psychically damaged motivation to try D/s play. Personal experience aspect is what I enjoyed about Over the Knee, where I also suspect the author has personal experience of being spanked, which allowed for better insight and more realistic story with some really interesting spanking scenes.

      I really enjoyed reading the book because I could see the development in personality and I could also see the struggle to accept the enjoyment of the play, although I could also see the uncertainty and even struggle to accept the dominance, as Sophie slowly developed enjoyment of the D/s play.

      This is something I could easily identify myself with, when I went through this stage few years back. I also started to develop a bit of interest as I was growing up in my teenager years, but did not fully go into it until my early 20s. Although I have to say that unlike Sophie I have far lower threshold of what I am willing to try in terms of amount of pain, submission and I admit I am not into humiliation at all, although I know some people really enjoy the mind play too. I also am switch and I lately tend to go more for the Dom role rather than being the sub.

      Nevertheless this book was really well written with lot of insights into the dynamics of D/s play, not so much of insight into a real long term relationship, explaining some of the basics of the play from both mental and physical perspective from someone, who was very willing to try and who enjoys it, even if they sometimes hate it at the same time.

      The book is well written, it keeps the reader´s attention through the book, but I can see that some people may be put off by some of the scenes described in the book, depending on what is too much for you. I may have far lower threshold for D/s play and I would definitely not go into some of the play described in the book or I would not enjoy the amount of spanking Sophie does, but I was still captivated by the story and the character development.

      I am actually currently reading the sequel to this book, which does show I do think that this book is good.

    2. Overall Rating
      9 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Well written, good insight into D/s play. Written from personal experience.
      Cons
      Some scenes could be too much for some.
      Bottom line
      If you want to know how D/s play works, you may give this try.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    Order by:

    1 to 15 of 30 | next
    Return to main The Diary of a Submissive by Sophie Morgan page