1. Reviews Page 1 - Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James

      Average customer review 4 out of 5 stars160 reviews

      Our Price
      £7.99

      Add to Wishlist

      In Stock

      Tracked 2-3 Day Delivery - free when you spend £40

      Tracked 1 Day Delivery - £5.99

      Please click here for current dispatch and delivery information

      Collect 80 Points

      Order over the phone: Call 0333 103 6969 and quote code 37452.

      1. Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James

      Mouse over image to zoom

    1. Customer Reviews

      Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James 160 4 out of 5 stars 4 out of 5

      5 star
      9358%
      4 star
      2516%
      3 star
      74%
      2 star
      1610%
      1 star
      1912%
      1. Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James
      2. Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James

        Our Price
        £7.99

    1. Exotic

      Reviewed: 31 July 2017 by Emilydb, a Straight Engaged Female

      I was such a sex novice before reading this book and even this book turned me on and want to try new things.

      This book will get most people's heart going and sexually aroused.

      Loved every moment of this book and I've read this book at least 9 times.

      I could read this book a few more times hopefully I won't get red while reading it in public, so people won't realise what I'm reading but still get that arousal.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Got me aroused
      Cons
      I didn't like was the boat house scene
      Bottom line
      Great book to get some ideas to do in the bedroom
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Naughty read that keeps you hooked

      Reviewed: 21 December 2015 by xxangxx

      I really enjoyed reading this book. I have read it again and again.

      It definitely keeps you hooked. As I read through each chapter I needed to keep reading on as I came to the end of the book, and it kept you wanting more, to find out where and what was going to happen. That's when I had to buy the next book.

      The characters of Christian Grey and Ana are brilliant, very well portrayed. Two total different expectations in life.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      The storyline kept you hooked.
      Cons
      Nothing.
      Bottom line
      A brilliant read, always keeps you wanting more.
    3. 1 person found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. 50 Shades of story

      Reviewed: 04 September 2015 by PirateQueen, a Bisexual Engaged Female

      I will warn you immediately - I am professionally biased in this review, so read on with trepidation... or not, lol, because that is one of the reasons why I love the 50 Shades books.

      I won't even touch on the controversy... in my experience, controversy can always be found everywhere, and there are very few cases out there where there is a good reason for it.

      So I'll just talk about this book and my own impressions, and not get into a crazy rant of any kind. :)

      Love it or hate it, I will say this for James - she did her homework on psychology. Grey (and Ana) are definitely people who are subject to their environment, their interaction, their own strengths and weaknesses, and for me, for all that there are some pretty dark moments in there, that is the main appeal of the book, because the characters are and remain highly realistic.

      (As I said, I am professionally biased here... :) ).

      To me, this trilogy is about love. About change, maladaptive responses being shifted because of someone you love, and the realisation that everything is ok (bondage included) insofar as both partners enjoy it. Ana does not sway Christian from using BSDM into perceived "normal". They're just a couple figuring out what they want and how far they feel comfortable going, and that under the burden of quite a lot of personal baggage. Neither is the bondage practised too extreme or too vanilla - what people often forget is just how personal this is. Sure - if you like to do very violent things to your partner or vice versa, or use very specific toys, everything else will be vanilla... but don't forget, there are couples who think that going for the girl on top is kinky, so don't waste time laughing at them, simply accept that that's how they feel, and live and let live.

      That's precisely what is so great about this book - the live and let live aspect is strongly there throughout the series.

      The first book, while somewhat dark in places, also doesn't go nearly as dark for me as the third... I'd say my personal fav is the second, because I am very uncomfortable with some aspects of the play for personal reasons (and that means I just skip along, lol).

      Tip - we used the sensory deprivation as in the book (without the fancy sound system, though :) ) and it was fabulous, I can't think of why we never got to that idea before!

      I also like James' style. Sure, it's a bit fanfiction (it was a fanfiction once, remember?), but it grows in time, and it definitely grows on the reader. I'm not a lover of first-person experience style... thus far, there have been only three writers who have made me like their work, and James is one of them.

      Is it slightly awkward? Well, Ana is the person speaking, and she IS awkward, about a lot of things.

      So I find it almost endearing.

      These are good books to read. I haven't read the newest book (Grey) yet, but I do hope she hasn't changed anything or taken him out of character, which can happen all too easily. I will definitely read it in the future, though... :)

      The first book is a book of learning to know each other. And the film just doesn't do it justice. Not for me, anyway, or my partner. What I really love is the ending, with Ana realising she can't try that far, and leaving... just to realise that they need to figure things out a different way (as does Grey). I think everyone can find a bit of something to like in this series, so I ask you to read it, without bias, and make your opinion then. I was sceptical at first too... but then I loved them. :)

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      The story
      Cons
      I skimmed some of the scenes for personal reasons
      Bottom line
      A brilliant read
    3. 1 person found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Naughty Read

      Reviewed: 14 June 2015 by honeybear7

      Fifty Shades Of Grey by E L James is one naughty read. I absolutely loved it. As usual, I was behind on the times and everybody I knew had read the book. Except me. I wasn't sure it was going to be something that I could get into or not, but after reading the first book, it left me wanting more. Talk about kinky romance, this book has it all and has become a favourite of mine.

      The book begins with Anastasia Steele about to do an interview with billionaire Christian Grey. When they first meet she can't help finding him interesting and a little arrogant, but highly good looking. She soon finds herself wanting more of Christian Grey while new urges swarm through her body. Grey finds himself attracted to Ana as well, and they both can't seem to stay away from one another.

      Ana, a virgin, finds out that Christian likes to be in control of everything, especially during sex, where he is the dominant and wants her to be his submissive. A little wary, Ana agrees, but only because she would do anything to be his.

      I really liked this book and found that it flowed pretty well. It did take till chapter five to get interesting though. I highly recommend this book and will definitely being reading book two and three.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Just about everything.
      Cons
      First few chapters were slow.
      Bottom line
      Love it. New favourite.
    3. 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Gripping read

      Reviewed: 15 March 2015 by mrs.hiskett

      I have this in my naughty collection! This one of the rare naughty books that actually focuses not just on the sex but also has a storyline (AT LAST!).

      If you want full description without cringe worthy words, then this is for you. I found the BDSM was light in comparison to other books but enough to get arousal going. Has lust, BDSM, decent storyline, and overall a good book. And somehow we all have the fantasy Mr Grey secretly, so easy to relate to.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Storyline clear and thought provoking.
      Cons
      Nothing.
      Bottom line
      Just buy it! You'll get what the reviews mean when you read it for yourself.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Oh my goodness

      Reviewed: 06 February 2015 by MrsTx x x, a Straight Married Female

      This book is brilliant! It really has everything, it stirs emotion from within, ranging from lust, love, fear and even sadness. It has gripped me so much so, I have read it twice, you can't help but fall in love with Christian and Ana.

      It's beautifully written and you can easily place yourself as Anastasia Steele desperately trying to not fall in love with Christian Grey.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      A true love story that's opened my eyes welcomingly/
      Cons
      There is nothing I disliked about this book.
      Bottom line
      I promise, that once you pick it up, you won't put it down, ever!
    3. 17 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. A woman's dream

      Reviewed: 26 November 2014 by emilyloulou, a Straight Going Steady Male

      This book is so beautiful to read. It's a little getaway from the stresses of everyday life and it allows you to actually wish you was the women in miss steele.

      Mr grey is a business man who is indeed very much the dominator man. Very graphic book but enjoying this book like I never thought I would.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Everything.
      Cons
      Nothing.
      Bottom line
      A must-read.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. One to read alone

      Reviewed: 27 August 2014 by hotpussylove, a Straight Engaged Female

      I first read this book after hearing people talking about it, but once I started, I just couldn't put it down.

      I was hooked at seeing what Christian's next moves would be. I imagined what it would be like to be with a man like that, and became even more interested in the BDSM side of things.

      I have got to say this book really spiced up my sex life.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      A friend.
      Cons
      Everything, it is a great book.
      Bottom line
      I would recommend you read it to know what I'm talking about.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. A must-read

      Reviewed: 24 August 2014 by LittleSwitchBitch, a Bisexual Married Female

      I know when it comes to this series everyone is either one side or another, and no one is really in between. Many say it isn't well written. Well, in my opinion, I wasn't correcting her style of writing, I was waiting to read what Christian and Ana would do next.

      These books for me opened my eyes into the BDSM lifestyle. I know a lot say it isn't portrayed correctly, but for me, I don't use it as a learning manual but more as an erotic fairytale that I sampled, if you get me. :)

      Definitely worth a read. :)

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Got lost in his world.
      Cons
      Struggling to read "normal" books since.
      Bottom line
      Try it. What you have you got to lose. :)
    3. 1 person found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Opened my eyes

      Reviewed: 19 August 2014 by pinkanimal, a Straight Married Female

      Lots of my friends were reading these and I decided to take the plunge and read them. A big step for me as I had never read anything like this before and at the time our sex life was a bit bland and, well, non-exisitent.

      I fell deep into this book, head over heels for Christian and jealous of Ana's relationship with him.

      I found myself actually visualising the book come to life in my head, and it turned me on thinking about it.

      I'm a fast reader when I want to be and it didn't take me long to devour this book time and time again.

      Whenever I feel like it I dig out the books again just for fun, and I can't wait for the movie to come out in 2015.

      Now thanks to this book I actually have a rather exciting sex life. I'm a regular in the Lovehoney community and even get tied up and spanked! I wasn't interested in anything like that before!

      Reading 50 shades of Grey opened my eyes to a world I never knew existed.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      All of it.
      Cons
      Nothing.
      Bottom line
      Doesn't seem to be everyone's cup of tea, but it was mine.
    3. 1 person found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Definitely a must read

      Reviewed: 01 August 2014 by littlell, a Straight Going Steady Female

      This is the first erotic book that I read. I am not a book reader usually; however, with this book I had to continue and read the whole trilogy.

      The book, I thought, would be all about sex, but the storyline threw me into an unexpected need to feel for the characters and keep reading.

      This trilogy I keep re-reading now and it is never getting boring.

      The truth be told, it had helped in my own sex life and improved the bedroom antics altogether, which we are both grateful for.

      I cannot recommend this book enough for people who are new to the erotic book scene and want a book that can be read both in public and in the bedroom.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Plot twists, Christian in general and Ana's innocence to BDSM.
      Cons
      The book was not long enough, also Ana as a character dragged a bit.
      Bottom line
      Amazing, a must read and helped in the bedroom.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Good in so many ways

      Reviewed: 29 June 2014 by Miss Stripes, a Straight Single Female

      The 'Fifty Shades' trilogy were not my first dip into erotic novels. However they were the first lot of erotic stories that were deemed 'acceptable' to read in public.

      I am an avid book reader and enjoy my stories to have well-written characters. Whilst there are noticeable flaws in Ana's personality, I found all characters likeable and was soon left swooning over Christian Grey.

      Fifty Shades is an erotic story which is captivating and addictive, it draws you in and makes you need to read the rest of the series.

      Because of how well Fifty Shades went down. it seemed to become socially acceptable to read it in public places and was less of a taboo.

      This book would be a great introduction to somebody new to erotic novels, or for somebody looking to spice up their lives.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      The plot, Christian Grey, the saucy ideas, getting to read it in public places.
      Cons
      Some parts of Ana's character got a bit frustrating, she did enjoy whining.
      Bottom line
      A brilliant addictive novel, sure to leave you hot under the collar.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Fifty Shades of O

      Reviewed: 03 May 2014 by KittaBee, a Straight Going Steady Female

      As this book is Twilight fan-fiction, the plot line is a bit predictable, but only at first.

      There are so many deliciously described saucy bits that get you hot under the collar, but it's not all sex! It has a storyline that captures you!

      My boyfriend loved it when I read out sexy parts of the story, and it really introduced us to different kinky practises, and shook up our sex life (oh wow!).

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Really descriptive, and made me so incredibly horny.
      Cons
      The plotline was a bit predictable at first, but then twists changed it up.
      Bottom line
      It was responsible for many orgasms from myself and my boyfriend.
    3. 1 person found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Must Have

      Reviewed: 11 January 2014 by toothpastekisses

      I am an avid book reader, mostly of romance novels but felt the need to spice things up and go for something a bit different!

      This book is really not a disappointment. It's has everything you need in a good book, from romance to cliffhangers, and some really good sex scenes!

      As somebody who had never really known anything about the BDSM community before it really was an eye-opener. I think reading this book can really open beginners up to explore some new things!

      On a whole, such a good book, MUST read... and if you do enjoy this I highly suggest looking into Sylvia Day's books as they are also extremely good!

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      Cannot put it down!
      Cons
      N/A.
      Bottom line
      Must have for all ladies.
    3. 1 person found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    1. Great Story

      Reviewed: 10 January 2014 by Lucky Lady

      Having seen and heard all the Fifty Shades hype in the media, I starting reading expecting this book to be all about the sex scenes and very little else.

      However, after a reading a couple of chapters I found it was actually a compelling and well written story which I found very difficult to put down.

    2. Overall Rating
      10 out of 10 stars
      Pros
      The way the story was written you could almost believe the characters were real people.
      Cons
      Nothing - it was a very enjoyable book.
      Bottom line
      Not just about the sex scenes - an engaging story worth a read.
    3. Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    Order by:

    1 to 15 of 160 | next
    Return to main Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James page