• Sexual Relationships and Self Harm

Shadow Collector [sign in to see picture]

Hey guys x

The title really says it all. I've been curious about this for ages now, but only just worked up the courage to ask.

Could you be in a sexual/romantic relationship with a person who self harms, or has in the past?

The_Cuboner [sign in to see picture]

I'm not sure. My initial response is no but obviously if I like the guy, I can't help it. I'm a Psychology student though and I've avoided starting something with someone who has depression for that reason. I feel it could get very messy, very quickly

Lovebirds_x [sign in to see picture]

Yup, I have been and indeed my partners all have been as I used to self harm until a couple of years ago. It can be difficult due to the underlying emotional problems, but the actual self harming isn't a big factor as once you understand it you understand it, if you know what I mean (as opposed to other issues which may be ongoing and prove more difficult to deal with over time). You will of course find people who don't and don't want to try to understand it or accept it, to the point where a relationship will not happen, but it doesn't rule out ever having a sexual or romantic relationship with anyone :)

Is there a specific reason why you're asking?

SensualFire [sign in to see picture]

This is a tricky subject and one that needs to be approached with care. I am in a relationship with some one who has depression, anxiety and social anxiety. It can become so very stressful and upsetting, because there is an inability to `connect` on one or more level.

As for some one who has self harmed, `emphasis` on the has aka in the past, then it means the individual has moved on which is very good, however if they are still self harming, there is a lot of underlying pain, hurt, trauma, and so many wounds, due to the lack of compassion, nurturing and love, given, or self recieved.